Cast/Crew, Personal

The Ricky to my Angela. Never again.

I stopped involving the cast and crew of Sleepaway Camp on my site, focusing only on the movie itself. However, this photo spoke to me in ways I could never imagine. I am reminded of so much and have started to mourn the absolute loss of possibility to what would be considered the real return to Sleepaway Camp for me, personally and as a fan.

This photo not only represents the obvious but so much more that I can’t even express here. Nevertheless, for the average fan, this is indeed a wonderful photo. Joined by some wonderful quotes by another Sleepaway Camp aficionado like myself.

Sleepaway Camp is really a state of mind, an attitude. It’s in you or it’s not. You are not defined by the physical – is what Angela taught us.

JONATHAN TIERSTEN AND FELISSA ROSE, 2011

You know, fuck new SC sequels. I have honestly given up caring. Not out of spite, but rather the empowerment that comes when you realize any sequel made outside of the 80’s/early 90’s will not truly be Sleepaway Camp no matter who directs it or is in it. If SC were god, apply the understanding that god is everywhere. I’ve found Sleepaway Camp more present in other 80s movies than in the 2003 film called RTSC. Sleepaway Camp is all around us, and its fun and complexity only stops when we stop looking.

PHOTO SOURCE: Darkrider Studios

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Ricky to my Angela. Never again.

  1. I think you are right. Felissa and I had an amazing time hanging out at Scarefest. The joy in Sleepaway Camp is a state of mind. I think you should right a book titled, “The Zen According To Sleepaway Camp.”

    Posted by Jonathan Tiersten | October 1, 2011, 11:34 AM
    • JT, you have made my year.
      Thank you.

      To reinforce, this photo is being printed and framed. It is very important to me. You and Felissa are a main reason why Sleepaway Camp is so special. I’m sure other fans would agree. And for myself, the best part of RTSC was Ricky.

      Posted by carysucks | October 1, 2011, 4:24 PM

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives