.txt

SLEEPAWAY CAMP ALTERNATE VERSION

WHAT a trip down memory lane. Back in 1998 I was just a young ignorant Sleepaway Camp fan. I wasn’t jaded in the least. I wish I could go back for just one day and relive that feeling of wanting to know, wishing for knowledge, and still holding on to the mystery that is Sleepaway Camp. I know it so well now. There’s no place left to go anymore.

THIS is where the rumor of a alternate version of Sleepaway Camp originates. ALT FUCKING HORROR. This was the popular hang out prior to forums and social networking. THIS was the juice.

Nov 22 1998, 4:00 am
No, Sleepaway Camp has two versions actually. How the two came about is not known (at least widely on the internet).

The most obvious difference is the ending. Angela is holding Peter’s head in the more shocking one. In the other version, Peter’s head is on the ground and she is holding the knife she apparently cut it off with. (Though I always thought she bit it off when I had only seen the head-holding one).

One version also has an extended baseball scene and more usage of the “F” word apparently.

I can’t remember which is more common (I think the longer one with the head being held–it’s what I had) but I don’t think either one is that difficult to find, even though it’s out of print.

The problem with this? They were both released with the same box (from Video Treasures) with the same running time on each, so it is impossible to know what you’re getting without watching it. This is what is strange–almost as if there was a factory mixup that let out some prints that were not intended for release and were not fully edited.

And I really doubt that Sleepaway Camp was pulling a gimmick like the screen adaptation(s) of Clue. Speaking of which, does anyone know which version played theatres?

-Msngperson

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives