Personal

HAPPY 28.a personal epiphany

I normally don’t talk personal in the website. Why would I. However, I rarely talk about why I love Sleepaway Camp so much and what it means to me, which is a very personal thing, something I should talk about. Today is Sleepaway Camps 28th birthday and I consider myself to be at a high point in my life as opposed to where I was in 1995, when I watched Sleepaway Camp for the first time.

In 1995 I was pretty much going nowhere at the slowest pace possible. I was 100% unhappy. I was 100% alone. It was during that period in my life that I learned I cannot count on anyone, not for anything other than rides and money. Make sense? Hopefully to some readers it does. I learned if I wanted to be any kind of happy or live any kind of meaningful life I had to stop relying on other people to make me happy or make my life meaningful. I learned to count only on myself for love, attention, affection, and acceptance. I was always the black sheep of the family. I had no true friends. Sometimes I still feel that I don’t, with the exception of maybe one person. Sleepaway Camp came into my life at a point when I needed faith. Faith in something, anything. Back then I was lost in a cloud of beliefs I clung onto for comfort because I was raised around them. Currently, I have renounced all religious beliefs, believing in the only thing I know to be true and right and holy in every sense of the word: Sleepaway Camp.

As I sit here typing these words that have seemed to come out of nowhere I think to myself I must have gone crazy somewhere along the way. At some point, I must have lost all touch with reality. But nothing could be further from the truth. I rarely smile, yet I am smiling now. I am more grounded in reality than I have ever been in my entire life. I am happy. I do work that is meaningful to me and to thousands of other beings each day. And I no longer belong to a cult who worships a god that does not exist. Nothing makes any sense. Why does it have to. I only know that for now and quite possibly always, my faith in Sleepaway Camp is stronger than any faith I ever had for any “god”. That my faith in Sleepaway Camp is 100% unadulterated and incapable of being penetrated by outside forces. I adhere to it and live by it. It has become my way, my truth, and my life. Noone can enter through me unless they enter through Sleepaway Camp. Not that they’d want to but, just for the record. I belong to the cult of Angela for now and for always.

Sleepaway Camp not only changed my life, it saved my life. I can’t explain it. That’s just the way it is. I’m not just a fan. I’m a child of Sleepaway Camp.

SEE ALSO: ABOUT, REASONS I AM A FAN (2006), Religious Side of Sleepaway Camp, married to Sleepaway Camp.

"I am the way and the truth and the life."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives